Judges rule that Christie didn't finish 1500m

GB short track speed skater Elise Christie was left in tears for the second time at these Olympics after a controversial judging decision in Sochi.

Christie appeared to win her heat in the 1500m but closer inspection showed she had failed to cross the black line painted on the ice, skating just 'millimetres' inside it.

Coach Nicky Gooch tried to argue her case and admitted the decision left him shocked.

"The referee said Elise didn't cross the line," he said.

"Where the finish line crosses the track, she crossed inside that line. The judge ruled she was off track and that means officially she hasn't finished the race.

"I've seen it called before but it doesn't happen normally and I was really shocked. I've looked at the video and we're talking millimetres here.

"To the letter of the law it's probably right but she's clearly qualified through that race but the rules say you can't be inside the line."

Christie was left stunned by the decision, which unlike her disqualification in the 500m final, left even seasoned observers of the sport surprised.

"I'm looking forward to getting back out there for the 1000m but it's been a hard few days and I'm struggling to bounce back. I'm just going to try my best."

Christie will now try to reset her sights on the 1000m next week, her signature distance in which she is the reigning European champion.

  • Date published: 17 February 2014
  • Date updated: 04 May 2016
  • Published by: sportscotland